## Art Below & Art Barter present: Berlin Pillar of Art 2010

June 20, 2010 Events No Comments



Friends of FADWebsite, **Art Barter** girls Lauren and Alix have embarked upon their next ambitious project for 2010, this time in collaboration with creative enterprise group, **Art Below**.

June 2010, see's the launch of the third Berlin Pillar of Art project, an initiative first set up by Art Below's Ben Moore whereby 14 foot high Pillars in the districts of Berlin Mitte and Prenzlauer Berg are adorned with works by selected artists.

This method if presenting and curating art on the city streets ia a brave and bold enterprise, bringing art to a wide public audience. It enables the artists to air their work in front of a larger audience than ever before and what better location than the culturally vibrant, artistic hub that is Berlin?

The project attracted a great deal of attention and success back in 2009, hence this year's re-launch. The added bonus of Art Barter's curatorship, should inject a new & exciting twist to what was already a dynamic project. The two like minded 'art entrepreneurs', have described themselves as the 'perfect playmates', both 'revolutionary, resourceful and truly avant-garde in spirit'.

The 10 selected public pillars are located in the Prenzlauer Berg and Mitte districts, with work from Berlin's hottest established and emerging artists being represented. In an added variation on last year's theme, 2010's Pillar of Art will exclusively showcase work from artists living and working in Berlin. Coinciding with Berlin's 6th Biennale for Contemporary Art, this summer promises to only further establish the city's reputation as a creative

melting pot.



Beth Jennings, J (Berlin Pillar of Art 2009)

Exhibiting artists are as follows: Jonathan Monk, Jason Dodge, Uwe Henneken, John Isaacs, Saâdane Afif, Evgeni Dybsky, Wolfgang Ganter, Yudi Noor, Sophie Holstein, Stefan Rinck, Haralampi Oroschakoff, Ilona Kalnoky, Charlotte Dualé, Stephan Balleux, Melissa Frost, Isabelle Graeff, John Kleckner, Alejandro Moncada, Sergio Roger, Yukiko Terada, Clémence Seilles, Ludwig Kreutzer and Jeremy Shaw.